The Herman D. Staples, M.D. Award

The Staples Award was begun to honor Past President, Herman D. Staples, M.D., the fourth President and a founding member of the American Society for Adolescent Psychiatry.  This award is given to the individual who embodies the spirit, integrity and dedication to the treatment of adolescents. 

The recipient of the 2019 Herman D. Staples, M.D. Award was Theodore Petti, M.D.  Dr. Greg Barclay presented the award to Dr. Petti at our 2019 Annual Meeting in San Francisco, California on May 17, 2019.

l-r: Drs. Greg Barclay and Theodore Petti



1997 Sherman Feinstein, M.D.*
1998 Leonard P. Henschel, M.D.*
1999 Virgil Cox, M.D. 
2000 Daniel Offer, M.D.
2001 Richard A. Ratner, M.D.
2002 Mark Chenven, M.D.
2003 Mark A. Wellek, M.D.
2004 Richard Rosner, M.D.
2005 Perry B. Bach, M.D.
2006 Stephen B. Billick, M.D.
2007 Robert Weinstock, M.D.
2008 Lois Flaherty, M.D. and Glen T. Pearson, M.D.
2009 Bertram Slaff, M.D.*
2010 Frank S. Williams, M.D.
2011 Dean De Crisce, M.D.
2012 Frances Roton Bell
2013 Jesse Raley, M.D.
2014 Gregory Barclay, M.D.
2015 Lois Flaherty, M.D.
2016 Sheldon Glass, M.D.
2019 Theodore Petti, M.D.
 *  Deceased